Shoplifting - foreigner

24. September 2009 Thema abonnieren
 Von 
bianca.janine
Frischling
(5 Beiträge, 1x hilfreich)
Shoplifting - foreigner

Hi everyone.
I'm sorry that I'm not (yet) able to write in German, but hopefully someone will understand English and try to understand my question.
So, I was caught shoplifting last month. First time. It was stupid of me, I know. I regret it now, but what's done it's done. I confessed the guilt and "cooperated" (if you may say that) with the police. I got my fingerprints and photo taken. It was a nightmare. Felt like the last person on Earth... a criminal...
So I received a few days ago a letter from the police with a fine. Since I don't speak (just a very little bit) German, I had to go online and try to translate the letter. And I understood the fine part (Geldstrafe). I don't understand though how did they get to the Tagessaetze. it was 25. So 25 multiplied by 15 is 375 euros. A lot for me. I am an international student here in Germany. I haven't told anyone about this because I'm too ashamed...
I went the second day to the Amtsgericht to pay it and just get it over with. I thought you might receive some type of discount if you pay early. They said that I have to wait for another envelope (nobody speaks English there, so it was very difficult... uh...) and the fine would be even bigger.
Can someone tell me how did they got to that amount? I mean, I was not opposing anything, I admitted my guilt.. in written (I've received a paper from the Police in my mother tongue and I had to sign it.
I am kind of scared because I don't want this thing to get out to any of my friends or family.
I couldn't manage to ask too many questions at the Amtsgericht since I don't speak German and the ladies there didn't speak any English (and they were pretty rude with me when I asked for someone who speaks English).

Many thanks,
Bi

-----------------
""

Notfall oder generelle Fragen?

Notfall oder generelle Fragen?